Day 2 - Friday, 26 June 2020




Words of Welcome (Video message)

Univ.-Prof. Johannes POLLAK
Chairman of the Executive Board of the Institut für Europäische Politik, Berlin; Webster Vienna Private University


Must the EU “learn to speak the language of power”?

Moderation: Prof. Senem AYDIN-DÜZGIT,Istanbul Policy Center, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, Sabanci University, Istanbul

Prof. Dr. Stefan FRÖHLICH, Institute of Political Science, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg

Sebastian GROTH, Director for Policy Planning, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Dr. Nicoletta PIROZZI, Istituto Affari Internazionali, Rome




Parallel Roundtable discussions


Institutional Reforms in Times of Crisis Management

Moderation: Prof. Dr. Michael KAEDING, Department of Political Science, University of Duisburg-Essen

Dr. Katrin AUEL, Institute for Advanced Studies Vienna

Gaby BISCHOFF, Member of the European Parliament, Brussels

Jim CLOOS, Deputy Director-General of the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union, Brussels

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang WESSELS, Center for Studies in Turkey and the European Union, University of Cologne


European Social Cohesion and Social Security

Moderation: Pola SCHNEEMELCHER, Economist

Prof. Dr. Iain BEGG, European Institute, London School of Economics and Political Science

Dr. Hrvoje BUTKOVIĆ, Institute for Development and International Relations (IRMO), Zagreb

Prof. Dr. Miriam HARTLAPP, Center for Comparative Politics of Germany and France, Free University, Berlin

Dr. Rolf SCHMACHTENBERG, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs, Berlin


Youth ideas

Students from:

University of Magdeburg

University of Passau

Moderation: Julia KLEIN, University of Magdeburg; Julian PLOTTKA, University of Passau; Jana SCHUBERT, Institut für Europäische Politik, Berlin


Concluding Remarks

Prof. Dr. Lucia MOKRÁ
Chairperson of the Board, Trans European Policy Studies Association, Brussels; Institute of European Studies and International Relations, Comenius University, Bratislava

Deputy Director-General of the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union, Brussels


Supported by: